Goodbye Breastfeeding

A little nostalgia for me :) She's not this little anymore, of course, but who can say no to a good baby picture?

A little nostalgia for me 🙂 She’s not this little anymore, of course, but who can say no to a good baby picture?

Tomorrow will be the last night of breastfeeding for me and my Penelope.

I have mixed feelings. I’ve spent 14 months bonding with her in this way and I don’t know that I’m ready to give it up. On the other hand, I’ll be breastfeeding again in 8 months and the break will be nice. Also, the Bugg (one of our nicknames for Penelope) isn’t really that into it anymore. She gets bored after a few minutes and starts looking around, grabbing my face/hair, and sticking her little feet up in my face with a devilish giggle.

I didn’t plan on breastfeeding this long. I thought we’d get to 12 months and be ready to wean. But, Penny’s first birthday came and went and we continued breastfeeding before I went to work, at naptime, and at bedtime. Summer arrived and we cut out the morning feeding and, not long after, we stopped the naptime feeding. But the bedtime feeding has endured.

It’s such a special time for me. A wind-down-from-our-busy-day time for both of us to share. And, I’ll admit, it calms her down before bed, which is one of the things I’m worried about tomorrow. I hope she gives up her bedtime feeding as easily as she did her naptime feeding. (I’m also planning on finally getting her to sleep without her wrap…the thing’s in tatters and it’s way past time she gets to sleep without it…) I’ll post on Tuesday letting you all know how it went. Wish us luck…

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Breastfeeding

  1. Pingback: First Night Without | The Adventures of Aubrey Simons

  2. Pingback: Bedtime Routine | The Adventures of Aubrey Simons

Leave a Reply

